at all times

It is days like these when I don’t feel like writing that most of the time I probably have the most to say.  I’m going into week five of sitting in the Canary Islands waiting to leave for Africa.  Sure the first few weeks were nice.  The beach is great.  It is actually the closest thing I’ve seen to a New England coast line probably ever – substitute pink granite and glacial erratics for volcanic formations and you have a wonderfully rocky view. 

IMG_0141

IMG_0144 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

Maine

              Kittery, Maine

There are other benefits for still being here.  We get real milk.  It may still come in a box but at least it needs to be refrigerated after opening and it has dairy in it and sometimes we even get to churn it into fresh butter.  Also, the fruit and veggie selection has been pretty fantastic.  All in all I should be grateful for this tropical “vacation” after the trying and exhausting summer I just had and I guess I am – but my heart yearns for Africa. 

I walk through the empty hospital wards and remember what they sound like full of laughing children, full of healing, full of life.  I see nurses working as deck hands and engineers and know I’m not alone in my eager expectation to finally be on our way.  I wait for my assignment in the dining room to begin as the work preparing the lab has finally come to an end.  Week after week we sit.  Problem after problem arise and we are asked to trust.  Be faithful and trust what the Lord is doing, that he is in control and he has a plan.

Isn’t this what I learned this summer?  Shouldn’t I already know how to do this?  I guess it is a lot easier said than done and when it comes down to it, trusting may just be the hardest thing the Lord ever asks of us.  We are not called to trust some of the time or when it is easy or with the little things or with the things that we can control so trusting isn’t really that big of a deal.  We are called to trust in ALL circumstances, in all things, big and small when our world seems to be falling apart at the seams; when Ebola is tormenting Africa; when ISIS is unleashing hell in the Middle East; when there are earthquakes and typhoons and everything under the sun appears the be unhinged…

Yes, even then we are to trust.

I guess the thing that makes this doable in any way shape or form is we are not called to a blind trust.  We are given full assurance that the Lord is in control, he does have a plan and that he is faithful to his children.  So, as I sit here waiting to sail and waiting for the hospital to once again be full of patients I will once again do my best to lay it all before him and trust him with all things at all times.

“Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.” Psalm 62:8

 

 

 

.

4 thoughts on “at all times

  1. …and in everything, give thanks. Time to lean is time to pray! Your desire to help, your learned patience and your commitment to this mission are already doing great things. You are not ineffective!

  2. Pingback: if it’s not one thing its a propeller | from the lion's head

  3. Pingback: the journey | from the lion's head

Leave a Reply

