“You guys give up? Or are you thirsty for more?”

Apparently I was not done “sailing for adventure on the big, blue, wet thing”…so here we go with a new blog title, a new adventure, a new place and a new life.   

 

Five weeks ago I left my beautiful home in Maine to begin a new stage of life.  The journey starts before that though.  After serving ten weeks on bard the Africa Mercy I knew I wanted to go back.  I didn’t know how soon that would be but I knew my time was not over.  Turns out, I didn’t have to wait as long as I may have thought.  In February I was offered and accepted the Senior Lab Tech position and signed on to serve at least two years.

Two years is a long time isn’t it? Yeah, I realized that too.  So much so that come spring I started to have a nervous breakdown and doubt the decision I had made.  However, we serve a God who is faithful to not only guide us in our decisions but affirm them once they are made.   The day of our last snow (which was the week of Easter mind you) I pulled over on the side of the road in a complete panic doubting the decision to return to Africa when I looked out my window and saw this in one of the dirt spots left behind by the melting ice and road grime.

 

 Looks like Africa right?  I thought so too.  So much so it made me cry even more.  It just goes to show that God has called me here.  He has confirmed and affirmed me in the process and I know he is going to have great things ahead. 

However, as much as I believe this, it continues to be a leap of faith every step of the way – hence the new blog title/Indiana Jones reference.  

(Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade)

I know that God has already built the bridge and gone before me.  All I have to do is take the step but when the way is not clear or sometimes even invisible, that next step can be quite the challenge.  So here I am, jumping off of the safe ground, trusting that my feet will hit and I’ll continue to walk the path God has made clear to me.  

Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.”

 

 

 

.

Leave a Reply

